Most people do not care enough about environmental issues.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The distressing condition of the environment due to pollution and global warming has ignited intense debates about human’s attitude towards Mother Nature. It is argued that most people do not pay enough attention to problems related to the environment. From my perspectives, I totally agree with this idea.

On the one hand, it should be acknowledged that people do care about the environment to some extents. As can be witnessed in the society, numerous events are hosted annually with the participation of thousands of people to raise awareness among the citizens about the dangers that the environment is facing. For example, Earth Hour is a reputable program which is organized throughout the world to promote the habits of saving energy. Furthermore, human’s habits and behaviors are being considerably adjusted as a way to protect the environment. For example, not only planting trees but also recycling is encouraged to curb the effects of pollution.

On the other hand, while actions to save the environment can be easily found among the population, the frequency of these are not yet adequate to influence the majority of people as a whole. This could be attributed to people’s perception and the government’s policy. First of all, because the changes happening to the ecology are rather gradual and subtle, it is hard for the folks to perceive it as an immediate threat. As a result, they do not notice it as much as they care about their common daily life matters. People can attend Earth Hour program and turn off the lighting devices for one day just to quickly switch back to their normal lifestyle which consumes energy wastefully later. Secondly, the government also has to take responsibility for the fact that they prioritize improving infrastructure and the economy other than environmental issues and what citizens can do about it. Campaigns and programs for dealing with pollution problems are introduced yet not maintained. As a consequence, it will be extremely difficult for people to retain an environmentally friendly way of life without the navigation and constant reminder of the authority.

To conclude, much as efforts to save the natural world are being made and deserve appreciation, it is also worth realizing that those attempts are insufficient as both people and the government have not taken the issues seriously enough.