Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

As compared to the past, people these days desire to enjoy the festive period hence, have forgotten the underlying meaning of these traditional or religious festivals. Is the above statement really true or just a hoax?

In my opinion, we are indeed losing the touch with our traditions concerning festivals.

Festivals were of utmost importance in the older days. This led to people being very sound with the meaning behind each and every traditional and religious festival. However, because of the current hectic life, many find it difficult to keep up with the tradition and prefer to take a break and enjoy. For example, a significant amount of employees in the IT industry in India have US or Canada-based clients for which they have to work odd hours. The timings vary from starting the office at 2 pm to as late as 7 or 8 pm which then stretches to late-night, making the employee weary which in turn leads to negligence towards tradition.

Societal pressure is another reason for this trend. Even if someone really wants to understand the meaning, others pressurize them by making fun of their intention. This pressure demotivates the preservation of tradition and promotes enjoying the break. While the intent of pressurizing is not to demotivate them, but people fall into the trap of trying to be accepted by society irrespective of what it may cost not just to them but even to their culture.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate by saying that in this contemporary world people are losing touch with their culture by not trying to understand the importance and meaning behind any festival. The reasons are many but the most important ones are the hectic life and societal pressure, both of which are not intentionally intended to separate us from our own culture.