In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

why might this be the case?

do you think this is a positive or a negative situation?

A home is a place where a person finds peace and has a feel of belonging. After a very tiresome day at work anyone would want to go their own place and shed off the weary feeling. This home can either be a rented place or bought from the hard earned money. Owning a home is considered to be very important as opposed to renting in some nations.

The reason why people in some countries would give more importance to buying their own home rather than renting could be many. In my opinion, I feel one reason could be the sense of ownership and power. Humans love to have ownership of anything from a small toy as a child to having their own cars when they grow up. For example, when I was a kid I loved the fact that I have my own cricket bat. Owning that bat gave me a sense of power, in a way that I could say that the bat is "mine". Later on when I started working and earning money on my own, I bought a PlayStation. Although I could have rented it whenever I wanted to play but still I chose to buy it.

Moving on to assessing whether it is a positive or negative situation, I would say it completely depends upon the financial status and the feasibility of renting a house or buying one. For example, buying a house in a big city like Mumbai will not make sense if you don't have adequate finances or plan to settle down there. Instead living in a rented place will be logical and financially a better option. So in a place where buying a house is given more importance, this could have a negative impact due to the social pressure. On the other hand, this could have a positive impact as buying a house ensures that the person would have a roof over his head and a place to sleep in at any point of time. Unlike living in a rented place, there is no threat of being kicked out my the landlord.

To wrap up, there is no fixed answer to whether the situation will have a positive or a negative impact. I believe that the importance should given more on which option is feasible in a country rather than just leading on with the prior notion.