As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction?

How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

It is true that working adults spend most of their time at work. It is therefore imperative that one finds satisfaction at work in order to achieve personal happiness. There are many factors that can contribute to this, some of which will be discussed in this essay.

One of the most important element to achieve satisfaction is high salary, which reflects how a company values an employee. The higher the pay grade, the more valued is the worker, thus, giving them a sense of importance. Another factor is professional growth, that is, if one is given opportunities for career development. This enables an employee to gain more skills and knowledge that can help further their career. Thus, workers feel that they are moving up along the ladder of success. Last is the working environment which can affects an employee’s length of stay. One is more likely to stay if one has a positive relationship with their colleagues because this adds an element of fun which lessens work-related stress.

However, not all are able to find these factors at work. Due to limited employment opportunities, some are unable to find jobs that suit their skills. Often, they end up settling for a job with lesser salary with no opportunities for career enhancement. This can bring discontentment and poor work performance. Also, competition imposed by management often negatively impact the work environment. This often creates rivalries that can turn hostile, thus, adding emotional stress to an already stressful working condition.

To conclude, job satisfaction can impact one’s perception of happiness. For some, a job with high salary, opportunities for career development, and friendly working conditions can bring job satisfaction. However, others are unable to achieve this because of limited opportunities and tough competition.