As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction?

How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Most of people’s adult life revolve around their jobs, which makes job satisfaction an important aspect of their lives. There are many factors contributing to job satisfaction including the nature of the job, achievement and job environment. And although job satisfaction is much desired among people, it is not perfect in the real world.

Job satisfaction is extremely important for a person’s wellbeing since job is an essential part of his/her life. One contributing factor for job satisfaction is the very nature of the job. Everyone wants to do the kind of job that the individual person likes. For example, if someone is an outsider by nature, then an office job is most possibly not going to give his/her any kind of job satisfaction. Another point to keep in mind is the feeling of achievement. If people do not feel that they are achieving something from their jobs they will lose interest, hence their satisfaction. A job should make the employee have a feeling of progress which is very important for job satisfaction. Furthermore, the environment people are working in has a lot to do with job satisfaction. It includes relationships with coworkers and superiors, also the setting of the workplace and the whole system.

While everyone longs for a satisfying job, in the real world it is not very common. For instance, most of the people are stuck with jobs they do not like. It is not possible to provide everyone with a satisfying job which basically does not go with the practicality of our modern world. Also, we do not live in a utopia that our job environment will always be refreshing and friendly.

Overall, the above argument gives some factors which are crucial for job satisfaction. And although job satisfaction is not always completely achievable, everyone should nevertheless strive to get the best out of the job.