As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction?

How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Jobs in Western countries have played an inevitable role. This could affect people’s wellbeing in both positive and negative ways. There are many conditions for someone to be happy at work and the level of job satisfaction depends on a variety of things. This essay will discuss these ideas.

First, a person’s wellbeing includes physical and mental health. Besides sleeping, an average adult usually spends most of their time working due to their responsibility for supporting themselves and their family. A typical full-time job requires people to work 5 days a week with a 9-5 shift a day which if put together it can be an enormous number of hours each year. In addition, the open-market model which has been promoted over the years in developed countries is likely to create more competition for companies which in return can put extra pressure on workers nowadays. It can be shown in the research that stress ranks among top enemies to our bodies and happiness.

Furthermore, there are two elements that can affect someone’s job satisfaction. The first is their passion for the work they’re assigned to. The question is whether it is financial gains or genuine interests, for example, in a specific industry, that motivates them to take the job. Besides the inner factor, outside things also can make a person love or hate their job. Things are like the manager’s support and understanding, coworkers’ attitude, and work ethic. On top of those are the salary and benefits that come with it, the future growth of the company compared to its rivals. In brief, the increasingly high competition in developed countries can make a huge impact on an individual’s physical and mental health. Also, the level of satisfaction can be determined by both inner and outer factors. Last but not least, it’s impossible for all workers to share the same expectations towards their jobs. This is due to the differences in age, working experience, personality, social network, and others. Each of these will have various effects on how workers see their jobs as fulfilling.

In conclusion, because of the amount of time and pressure a job may bring, its satisfaction is crucial to people’s health and happiness. The factors contributing to job satisfaction and its level may vary depending on individuals and other demographic factors.