The movement of people from the countryside into the cities is happening in many parts of the world, resulting in the problems, especially in cities. What are the causes of this movement, and how can it be reversed?

Nowadays, many big cities witness huge development in many aspects leading to the phenomenon of emigration from rural areas to urban areas which cause various problems in cities. Contributing to this issue, studying purpose and the lack of employment in the countryside were considered the two main reasons. Some recommendations will be imposed later to deal with this problem.

With regard to the first reason, the number of adolescents choosing cities for their study has increased in recent years. This happened because cities, nowadays, construct many universities which are recognized with the great quality and parents who always want the best for their children believe that these universities are helpful for their children’s future. As a result, the number of students applying to city universities increased significantly, while the figure for the colleges in the countryside decreased. In other words, it causes the imbalance in the number of students between both regions.

Cities are the ideal environment for young people to build their career so that there are more young generations in rural areas today who tend to move to urban areas. Compared to the number of jobs in the countryside, it is undeniable that cities provide ambitious young people more job opportunities so that they are able to develop their career path. However, this movement results in the overload in the number of candidates, and there are more unemployed people living in cities.

After analysing some reasons for the problems, the most suitable suggestion can be applied for the purpose of reducing this movement is that the government should reconstruct the infrastructure in the countryside so that many businesses and colleges can move to these areas, which also develop the education and solve the unemployment in rural areas.

In conclusion, the quality of education and the abundance in jobs in cities are two main factors causing the movement of people from rural areas to urban areas. Therefore, the investment from the government in the countryside facilities is necessary to reverse this issue.