moving from rural areas to big cities

The history of human migration can date back to prehistoric times when massive human movements took place globally in search of a better living environment with fertile land. This human instinct in seeking for betterment, in fact, is still a crucial driving force to prompt a growing number of young migrants from the countryside to cities for education and work.

Resulting from imbalanced social development in multiple aspects, the geographical differences in life quality are the major triggers. Less likely to be a regional economic or political center to attract large cooperation’s investments, most rural or remote areas may not be able to show their competitive advantages in the provision of sufficient job opportunities, let alone with the rewarding position with competitive compensation and benefits packages. As a result, despite the fierce competition in the local labour market, many metropolises thank to their prosperity, are attractive to fresh graduates in terms of higher incomes and more promising career paths with substantial work experience accumulated from famous companies. Meanwhile, benefiting from the stronger economy, urban infrastructure, including the education system, tends to be better developed, with more funding on teaching facilities and competitive incentives to experienced faculty.

In general, such a trend brings more merits to young individuals. Even though they are likely to encounter a series of life pressure from either their work or study due to the fierce competition in the urban area, the returns, as mentioned before, are evident. Otherwise, they would not have been tempted to leave their hometown. The side-effect of this phenomenon to both rural and urban areas, however, might be more worrying than what society can benefit from. From a macro perspective, the entire human resource of society might have been better utilized. Yet, the beneficiary is the big cities only. Losing a young and competent workforce is the most frequent loss to the farming industry and thus, the local economic progress is stagnant so that the gap between these two areas might be further widened. Besides, the uneven population distribution may lead to other human-resource-related problems. The soaring property price originating from the joint-effect between the limited urban space and raising accommodation demands is one of many typical examples.

In conclusion, the occurrence of this tren is mainly attributed to the greater chances, as well as, the possibly improved living standard accordingly. Be that as it may, the adverse impacts of the disequilibrium in the population distribution between rural and urban areas on society as a whole might be significant.