Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

There is no shadow of doubt that in the recent years, it has become a popular trend to open multinational businesses in the rising nations. This has both pros and cons. This essay will first suggest that reduced labour costs is the primary benefit for these companies, while bad publicity because of Human Rights abuses is the main drawback.

To begin with the advantages, the main reason multinationals set up shop in poorer countries is because it is much cheaper for them to get their goods manufactured there, due to comparatively lower salaries. In an ever more competitive marketplace, it is simply unsustainable for most companies to pay Western wages when they can pay someone a fraction of the cost to do the same job. For example, the only reason an iPad or iPhone can be sold for less than $500 is that a worker in China can assemble the unit for approximately one-tenth what an American would expect to be paid. As a result, lower wage can affect the selling price.

Despite this economic benefit, there is major drawback that cannot be given a miss is, civil liberty violation . To illustrate, Apple has recently come under scrutiny because of appalling conditions in many of its Asian factories. Workers in their manufacturing plant in China had to work under such grim circumstances, including 18-hour shifts, pressure to meet unrealistic quotas and low wages, that several of them committed suicide by leaping off the factory roof. The New York Times reported that this resulted in a 12% drop in the sale of Apple products, especially after it was reported that Apple had installed nets to stop any employees killing themselves in the future. Therefore, workload with a low income can diminish productivity.

In conclusion, huge global companies may reap the rewards of low operating costs in developing countries, but they should also keep in mind that they have a responsibility towards their workers and any infringements of their rights could negatively affect their image and stock price.