Nowadays, most of the young people are advised to take a year off after completing their high school and before starting their university in order to either work or travel. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this rising trend?

There is no gainsaying the fact that in many nations’ youngsters are encouraged to either work or travel for one year soon after completion of their academics from school before embarking on universities. The prime benefit of this trend is saving money and the major drawback is reduced motivation to study.

On the one hand, there are vivid (clear) benefits of having twelve months off after the completion of schooling. Firstly, it is irrefutable that the university fee structure is expensive as compared to school education. Therefore, in order to not confront the financial burdens, many students opt to work for one year. For example, the cost of an annual fee of New Delhi University is INR 1200,000 and many students drop their studies for not being able to pay the amount. Secondly, working also helps students to gain work experience which they can use after their degree to attain high-paid employment.

On the other hand, there are some downsides as well to having a one-year gap. The main drawback is bypassing the university education altogether. Meaning that, while working some students become money-minded and do not return to commence their degree program. Take the example of a recent survey conducted by Cambridge University in February 2022 which it is revealed that more than 32% of students failed to enroll in university due to getting employment after high school. As a result, these kinds of students work on limited remuneration for the rest of their lives because of the lack of demanded certificates. Moreover, such students also do not get to enjoy a luxurious life to live as compared to others.

To conclude, it is evident from the aforementioned information that taking one year of gap gives the opportunity to gather savings which students can pay towards university education. However, in some cases, this trend also makes some students less interested in attaining their degrees.