Many high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 percent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Despite the fact that the female rate of employment is above 50 percent than that of men, men are more likely to be offered senior posts at several organisations. These people claim that a specific number of these positions should be offered to female personnel. This essay will argue why offering certain top positions to only women will only discourage hard-working traits among workers as promotion is generally only based on the potentiality of an employee and not on the basis of gender.

In the rising trend of equality among all genders, it would not be fair enough to hire any particular percentage of any gender for any top position. In other words, the selection criteria which is not based upon the effectiveness of an employee will contribute to support one sex over the other. Consequently, this would not discourage the capability of any worker and but his zeal to perform diligently would also be harnessed. For example, my brother’s business company was in good condition and was led by a female CEO for 5 years, after her job tenure, the same post was offered to some other female staff member who was not equally potential and had no prior knowledge. The company had to pay a huge loss just because it was promoting one gender, which clearly elucidates the scenario being discussed.

Apart from this, the determination of an employee will also be forsaken if top level positions will simply be offered to females just to motivate them. There are myriads of individuals, irrespective of their gender, who render dedication and commitment towards their organisation which is often remarkable. If their work is simply ignored for another gender’s sake, they would fail to work hard for the promotion of high-level positions. Over all, these kinds of practices should be overlooked as they only deteriorate the diligent nature of some people.

To conclude, this essay argued that people who are in favor of women being in senior positions in an organisation, certainly do not follow the concepts of equality between the sexes and the committed nature of the employee towards their his work. In my opinion, awarding those positions to only one gender will be erroneous as it is entirely unjustified despite favoring one gender with little or no commitment.