Some people say that now we can see films on our phones or tablets, and there is no need to go to the cinema. Others say that to be fully enjoyed, films need to be seen in a cinema.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is an undeniable fact that technology has revolutionized the way audiences watch movies in current era. Owing to smartphones and tablets, we can watch movies anywhere and anytime. Some section of the society nurture this belief that this is a substitute for going to the cinema, while some do not. However, I would argue that movie theatres deliver an unparalleled experience since not all movies can be enjoyed on small screen.

On the one hand, the advent of smart devices has put the cinema business at stake. This is because many people have begun relying on their smartphones to watch their favourite videos and movies at their home convenience. For example, there are many mobile applications, such as Netflix, Amazon Prime providing users access to millions of contents at an affordable price, including those which are not even shown in theatres. This has given people a good reason to enjoy movies with their families at home. In contrast, it would be costly and inconvenient should people have to watch movies in the cinema.

On the other hand, theatres give an unmatched experience that viewers cannot get while watching movies on a small hand-held screen. For instance, in movie theatres, films are projected on a large screen with a high-quality surrounding sound system and a comfortable sitting, where watchers can easily enjoy the film to the fullest. Moreover, many cinemas have recently introduced new theatre concepts to cater various customer segments, especially having latest VFX features. If cinemas ceased to exist, movie lovers would not fulfil their need for an immersive experience. Lastly, watching movie in a theatre is a great way of socializing.

To conclude, despite the convenience the small smart devices render for movie-lovers, I firmly believe that theatres still remain a significant option. Therefore, going to cinemas holds a crucial precedence for those who prefer experience over convenience.