Many universities charge higher fees for foreign students. Why do they do this? Do you believe that it is fair?

There is not even a speck of doubt that there are ample of universities having a dual policy in case of their tuition fees as they charge foreign students higher than the locals. The prime reasons for overcharging relates to restrict rising influx of international students and enforcing national privilege, I believe, and this is purely fair even though it is against being treated equally.

To begin with, different fee structure for local and international students gives an impression of not being equal, especially when we are fighting for the equal rights in every nation; the discrimination between such differences in the fees seems unfair to some. For example, international students often need to pay up to 400 percent more than the local students when it comes to taking higher education in countries such as Australia, New Zealand and Canada.

However, the university authority often states that this is a policy that ensures better educational environment in university campuses. First reason they mention to support their argument is the government’s obligation to its dwellers. To be precise, a government has a direct obligation to educate its citizens while educating the international students is not direct. This also ensures that authorities are enforcing a natural privilege to its citizens while using the extra income from foreign students. Moreover, citizens of any nation are tax payers and they have right to education, thus, the government have to do everything in order to educate its people first. Finally, higher university education costs help to control the international students flow in a country.

To conclude, providing some opportunities to the local university students is not a bad idea when the funds are collected from outside learners in the form of higher tuition fees. This ideology not only improve education system for every child, but also make the nation flourish by leaps and bounds.