Some people think that watching sports in one's free time is just a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Spending a considerable amount of the time watching competitive games is perceived to be unproductive by some individuals. I firmly oppose the given notion as sports not only provides an excellent source of entertainment but also ameliorates the social skills of an individual, provided the same is not done excessively

Two initiate, the proponents of the idea argue that watching sports for a much longer time can degenerate the cognitive skills of its viewers. Owing to the fact that fans are passionate about their favourite sports games and watch every live telecast of it despite being telecast for longer hours. Consequently, this desperation affects their mental health in the long run. For instance, a football admirer became extremely dull and lazy when his favourite team could not win a match as reported in the Tribune newspaper in 2017.

Contrarily, where such problems do occur, the majority of individuals spend their time with family while watching sports shows as a part of their amusement activity. This trend promotes increasing relationship building among people. To illustrate, ever since the Indian Premier league has started in India, its inhabitants gather at their friends or relatives places to take pleasure in watching the preferred games on Television channels together which boasts their interpersonal skills.

In conclusion, although there are a few drawbacks of watching sports when done excessively, the significant benefits that amuse people while uniting them in their spare time should not be forsaken.