Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

The proliferation of supermarkets in rural and urban areas is on the rise. It is believed to be beneficial by some cohorts and damaging to the local businesses by others. While people with both the points of view continue to exist, I firmly believe that opening up of shopping malls helps local communities to flourish by leaps and bounds.

To initiate, proponents of the idea argue that international products render national investors out of business. As increasing numbers of cheap products are available to choose from, sufficient funds may not be available to local people to produce items of comparable quality. For instance, ever since the advent of China in the cotton and toys industry, native Indian fabric industry has almost shut down. This has also resulted in many individuals getting unemployed.

Contrarily, where such problems do occur, large shopping areas, in fact, aid to sustain local produce. Firstly, as competitors stock their articles from around the world, inhabitants of the area stand a better chance to sell their finished goods to a greater number of consumers. Generation of these increased amount of revenue would be a great consequence, therefore, enhancing the gross domestic product in return. Moreover, the establishment of supermarkets can help to feel pride among the masses. This can be cogent in cases where local items occupy shelves of supermarkets, enabling purchases by international customers. With effective marketing strategies, a brand might become popular ubiquitously.

All in all it can be concluded, it is imperative that growth and sustenance of supermarkets will fuel up the survival of local communities.