Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of small shops will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, sophisticated modern technology has had great influence on people in these days and businesses are operated on large level. Many argue that huge super centres would take over small business units and those may be shut down due to the popularity of branded products and commodities. While i believe that big shopping complexes dominates miner enterprises, the profound importance of local shops can not be overlooked.

On the one hand, supermarkets has been developed up to large extent and offer wide range of items. Firstly, in this contemporary era public is able to buy a variety of things under one roof as today businesses put endeavours in providing convenience to its customers. Therefore, individuals prefer to shop from reputed stores to make sure that they are purchasing products with superior quality instead of cheaper ones. Secondly, shopping online from social websites such as amazon, zara, flip cart is becoming extremely popular nowadays as in this modern age everyone wants fast services. That is why, owing to the advent of e- commerce people tend to buy stuff online instead of going anywhere physically to save precious time and money. Finally, majority of products are sold in bigger and high-rated super centres because of fixed prices as in shops people has to bargain for lowering down the prices. However, in malls the store keepers sale products at reasonable prices. As a result, in order to use money at optimum level masses go to shop in super markets where they can get guarantee, warranties and after sale services.

On the other hand, even though major business units has more potential to survive than small shops. I believe that local shops cater the needs of people living in towns and countryside. First of all, local societies are best served by small shops as these are in proximity and closeness to them and can buy basic things over there. Consequently, it is really hard for them to commute to cities for visiting supermarkets which are situated in metropolitan cities. Besides this, if there will be no retail shops, the people who are unprivileged would be deprive of basic necessities as they can not afford the expenses of branded products which results in their poor lifestyles.

To conclude, although i believe that supermarkets are famous for shopping today, the local shops are the integral part of the lives of people and their pivotal role can not be ignored.