My students find that study at university or college is harder than study at high school. why does this happen? How to solve this problem?

It is argured that study at university or college is more difficult than study at high school. There are a number of reasons behind this phenomenon and several

solutions should be adopted to solve the problem.

There are two reasons for the phenomenon we are discussing. Firstly, teaching method of university is absolutely far different from this of high school, which forces students to adjust their studying method. Learners undoubtedly have to be self-discipline for intensive self-study with thick books and questions in their specialisation before attending any lesson. Moreover, they also need to take more initiative to discuss with the whole class to find out the answers instead of being passively given the answer by teachers in high school. Secondly, distinguish from high school teachers, university lecturers can not keep their eyes closely on students and strongly commit to help them no matter what they ask, because there are hundreds of others in class and so many works for the lecturers to focus on.

Some measures should be taken to mitigate the problem of adapting university teaching method. One step is that university should have orientation day which give students an authentic overview about new method of teaching and instruct them to follow new method. Almost every university in USA even has orientation week, which allow freshman to experience any favorite class before their registration in official classes. By doing that, learners could have time to fully prepare and wisely choose classes that meet their demand of studying. Beside the measure from university, students should take actions to familiar with university teaching method by making to-do-list everyday and putting everything in schedule. Therefore, they could keep outstanding academic perfomance as well as participating intersting extra-curricular activities in university.

In conclusion, changing the study environment from high school to university is a big and difficult step that every student has to experience, and all solutions above can be applied by them to completely deal with this problem.