Some people believe that schools should only teach children subjects which are beneficial to their future career and therefore other subjects such as music and sports are not important. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the challenge of selecting an effective curriculum has been a controversial issue with both educationists and students. Therefore, the syllabus at the school aims to meet the job- oriented purpose of the students. I totally agree with the idea that the syllabus for all students at the school should contain the wide range of subjects including academic subjects and others optional ones.

To begin with, the multidiscipline studies has been designed by pedagogical experts to allow students develop their practical and professional skills such as creative thinking and logical thinking. This means that, all subjects virtually play their own role to enhance the potential ability for progression and improve students' academic achievement. Furthermore, adding these subjects like arts, music in a timetable of a school is to supplement for brain working effectively. It is undoubted that reinforcing the bonding between different brain structures associated with scientific and artistic creativities, promotes the development of human civilization. In addition, the core curriculum with varied subjects provides the students the coverage of necessary general knowledge, irrespective of their fields of interest.

It appears that these additional subjects like music and art considered beneficial for those students who are under pressure in compulsory academic ones due to lack of interest in these studies. The students can enhance the relevant skills as part of their leisure activities or hobbies. It is useful time to relax and mentally unwind after a day of non-stop studying. Besides, they are able to enter a wider community where teachers and peers will motivate them to improve the academic performance and attain their achievement.

To conclude, it is essential for experiencing and absorbing a broad and balanced curriculum, there are definite advantages when students expect to develop holistically. This can help them understand their potential, find identity and purpose of life, deepen their understanding and capabilities nature for their future careers.