In the new millennium, education and achieving a high score at schools is of paramount importance not only for the pupils but also for their parents.

In the new millennium, education and achieving a high score at schools is of paramount importance not only for the pupils but also for their parents. In such a context, it is claimed that schools should only reward the best students getting the highest score. However, others mentioned that praising students demonstrating progress is far more important. By my reckoning, each method has its own advantages which should not be ignored.

On the one hand, keeping the best pupils motivated by giving them various incentives is quite important for a multitude of cogent reasons. Firstly, these students are more likely to be successful in their studies and may contribute more to the welfare of their citizens in the future compared with other pupils. As a case in point, nearly all doctors and engineers performed really well during their education and as an adult, they can address the critical needs of other people. Secondly, top students act as a role model for their classmates and less successful students could be promoted to do well academically by imitating them.

On the other hand, acclaiming children who do their best and achieved higher grades compared with their previous scores is critical as well. By doing so, they possibly gain more motivation to study better. As an illustration, if teachers and educational planners reward these students they gain a higher level of self-confidence which contribute to do well in other sectors of their life. This tactic, incontrovertibly, keep them motivated throughout their academic life.

To sum up, it is crystal clear that while rewarding top students is quite beneficial both for the students and society, appraising pupils showing improvement is vital as well.