In the new millennium, many people select to travel by their own four-wheel vehicle or tram.

In the new millennium, many people select to travel by their own four-wheel vehicle or tram. In such a context, it is asserted that authorities should devote far more revenue to enhance railways instead of roads. To some extent I agree that governments have to improve the railways, however, enough funds should be allocated to roads as well for a couple of cogent reasons.

According to the statistics, railways commute is the safest means of transportation in many countries. Therefore, it is of paramount importance to build adequate railways and encourage the public to use this way for their daily commute or even their travel. As a case in point, around two accidents happen per year in my country, Iran, in a railway, which is far lower than the car accidents. In addition to this, by traveling via the railways' fossil fuel could be saved. Also, far fewer greenhouse gases will be pumped into the air if individuals opt to select railways to travel instead of road travel.

On the other hand, it is true to say that many people travel by their private car for leisure purpose or going to work. As a result, new roads should be built and a great amount of money should be spent on equipping roads with speed cameras, road signs, and improve lighting, etc. Incontrovertibly, road space should be increased due to a higher number of cars which are produced each year. Consequently, an adequate budget should be given in this regard.

To sum up, it is crystal clear that promoting railroads is essential due to their safety and environmentally friendly way of commute; while building and equipping roads are important as well for the aforementioned reasons. Therefore, sufficient money should be allocated for both objectives.