news editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. what factors do you think influence these decisions? do we become used to bad news? would it be better if more good news was reported?

There is a wildly held myth among people about editing news on tv or radio programs. New editors are believed to be deciding what to broadcast and as a consequence the audience would be used to bad news.

There are some major factors which they consider in order to choose the news to broadcast. The best factor is that a news should get the audience attention in a way that editors want and as a result they can get higher viewers. These days, bad news sells more and violence is more showed in tv. News that are more related to wars, death tolls, accidents are some examples. It absolutely affects audience’s approach and it is plausible to say that they get used to it.

It is better for producers to change their direction and broad cast good news equally to bad ones. And the best option is to report the truth in order to gain a great deal of attention. Because people want to get up-to-date information as soon as possible and at the same time they want the right one. It is not worth to spread gossips and rumors because eventually people do not continue to be the audience.

Editing news should not be a rule in a tv station or even radio. On the contrary it should be the audience’s choice to be exposed to the good or bad news. In result, the news editing should be regulated or even banned if they want to hide the reality and mislead people.