Nowadays, celebrities earn more money than politicians. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Recently, personages have a tendency to earn a greater amount of income than their counterparts in politics. I am convinced that this development is beneficial and can be explained by some compelling rationales.

The number of income sources lies at the root of this contrast. As for prominences in the entertainment business, their income can be generated through diverse channels. Apart from the salary obtained from their performances, celebrities can also earn a fortune through lucrative contracts from celebrity endorsements or public events The increasing ubiquity of social media platforms also plays an important role here, in which the better they make a name for themselves, the higher chance they can improve incomes. On the other hand, politicians can only be offered a much lower fixed salary deducted from governmental budgets and taxes. Moreover, they are not entitled to run their own business, as an act to ensure the integrity of the market. As a result, the disparity in earnings of these two professions will invariably be maintained in contemporary society.

Objectively, this discrepancy can be deemed advantageous considering several factors. Given the nature of their work, politicians are required to be completely upright and not influenced by financial motivation. Therefore, issuing a fixed and sufficient level of salary could encourage them to work with an unwavering commitment to society and avoid bribery or corruption. Meanwhile, a comparative income of public figures could reflect the cultural and economic values they contributed to their nation. Through artistic performances and work, their country’s image can be promoted and recognized worldwide, thereby generating substantial foreign investments. For instance, for the past decades, the Hallyu Wave of Korean artists has exported their pop and entertainment cultures throughout Asia, which massively benefit both the popularity and economy of this East Asian nation.

In conclusion, the income of these two professions relies heavily on the variety in their income sources. This trend should be highly encouraged as it promotes politicians’ integrity in national governing, as well as celebrities’s duty in cultural integration and economic contribution.