Nowadays children are consuming too many sugar-based drinks.what are reasons and solutions for this situation?

A healthy body is a healthy mind. Over the recent years, children have been exposed to different foods containing sugar, adversely affecting their physical and psychological health. The reasons and solutions for this scenario are discussed below.

The culture of consuming sugary drinks especially soda based drinks has increased significantly. Naturally, if parents consume soft drinks, then children tend to follow them. In addition to that, most of the parents do not know the after effects of excessive consumption of sugar-based drinks such as obesity, diabetes and tooth decay. In some cases, parents feed children these drinks as an alternative to food thinking that they would satisfy the child's hunger. Hence, parents have a huge role in children opting to devour sugar filled drinks.

A plethora of solutions are available to deal with this situation. Firstly, a balanced meal is an essential component for a child's growth and development. Providing the child with a balanced meal, which contains right amounts of carbohydrates, protein and other minerals would satisfy the child's hunger completely. A satisfied child would not crave for unnecessary food at odd times. Secondly, Introducing children to a variety of fruits and vegetables during childhood instead of readymade sugar- high juices would encourage them to have healthy foods when they are hungry. Homemade fresh juices may not need sugar and are appetizing. Thirdly, parents should be educated about food habits and they should also act as appropriate role models in choosing nutritious food. Finally, The government and school should create awareness among parents about food choices.

In conclusion, parents could completely avoid exposing the children to sugar-containing drinks by providing them with wholesome foods. The government and school should constantly highlight the importance of health-giving foods.