Nowadays, the designs of the buildings in the community are affected by other cultures. This results in loss of cultural identity of the structures in the community. People would claim that buildings should be built using a traditional style for the protection of cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement and give your opinion.

With the advancement in modern architecture, some are of the belief that it is not important anymore to make buildings that will show the culture of the society where they are built. However, I am of the opinion that the design of the buildings must reflect the cultural identity of the city.

The city’s cultural identity must be inculcated in every piece of architectural work as it do not only stand as the heart of the town but also symbolizes the history of the place and how it came to be. Apart from that, the distinct features of every building can stand as the heritage of the city just like most of the cities in China where they build infrastructures that show the culture of their cities. In fact, it is known as one of the countries where its people build establishments that reflect the never-ending loyalty and support to it.

Furthermore, creativity in the innovative design of the buildings are showcased because architects and engineers are able to get to know more about the history of the region. In addition to this, they become fully aware of the implications of the designs they are going to make and in the process of making them, they will prevent themselves from making an output that they may regret in the end. These results in them becoming culturally sensitive and able to respect the people and its heritage.

To conclude, although modernization can provide creativity with how buildings are made, I am one of those who think that these should be built according to the city’s cultural identity. It does not only reflect the region and the people but it also preserves their history.