It is said that "Not everything that is learned is contained in books".

Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, different approaches to learning have been identified to assist a person in their mental development. While some are of the opinion that intelligence can be obtained through reading books, others think that it is not the best source and that they can acquire this through experience.

It is certainly true that reading materials are good sources of information. People have been taught by their parents how to read books even before they started their pre-school years. From the moment they start familiarizing different alphabetical letters and reading by syllables until being able to criticize essays and theoretical books, learners develop an intellectual process which they can use daily. In addition to this, being highly skilled in reading helps them to become mentally competent. They are able to comprehend the gist of what they are reading for them to apply when writing academic essays. To them, being able to read helps them to excel and be skillful in their chosen academe.

However, another way to gain knowledge is practicing what is taught through application. This is because not all information are retained in a person’s memory after reading a certain topic. In fact, only 30 % is absorbed in a human brain while some are forgotten. Furthermore, being exposed in their field of practice activates their problem solving skills which help them to approach different challenges. This further develops their experiential learning which is evident in the medical field, where doctors and nurses are able to apply their knowledge into practice. Once they are more exposed in these areas, they get to understand how to approach different situations enabling them to become experts in the long term.

In conclusion, although books are a good source of knowledge, I believe it is not the best one. Experiential learning has proven to improve how information is retained by the learners as they put what is taught to them into application and expose themselves to various setups in their areas of practice.