Nowadays a growing umber of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their actual doctor. Do yo think this is a positive or negative development?

In the modern world, people are seeking novel methods of treatments than using prescribed medicine. This trend can be reviewed from both positive and negative angles depending on the type of illness and the alternatives applied for it. Below I briefly discuss both views.

On the one hand, moving towards natural and less chemical ways of treatment is a development when it comes to more common and less serious health issues such as headache or depression. Taking chemical drugs have their own side effects and many see this as a disadvantage. Therefore, many patients prefer to try traditional approach such as acupuncture or take organic medication instead. In my opinion, those alternatives are harmless and have less side effects.

On the other hand, this trend can be extremely dangerous for patients with more serious health issues such as blood pressure and heart-related diseases. Excessive use of herbal plants can be poisonous in many cases. There are a growing number of reports on patients who have lost their lives due to using home-made treatment products. Moreover, the pharmaceutical technology has significantly improved and nowadays, there are customized medicine for patients that can target only the cells involved with the health problem with much less side effects.

In conclusion, the outcomes for the current trend of moving away from medical prescriptions are complicated. In less serious cases, using alternative methods seems to be a safe option, however, in case of chronic or sever illness, I am strongly against disregarding the doctor’s treatment. In any case, patients should consult with a health professional before making their decision.