Nowadays a growing umber of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their actual doctor. Do yo think this is a positive or negative development?

In the modern world, people are seeking novel methods of treatments than using prescribed medicine. This trend can be reviewed from both positive and negative angles depending on the type of illness and the alternatives applied for it. Below I briefly discuss both views.

On the one hand, moving towards natural and less chemical ways of treatment is a development. Taking even the most common drugs regularly, have their own side effects and many see this as a disadvantage that doesn’t worth trying when it comes to more common and non-serious health issues such as headaches or depression. Nowadays, progressive health advisors recommend patients to engage in physical activities such as Pilates, Yoga, and/or traditional treatments such as acupuncture to address those issues. In my opinion, those alternatives, not only are harmless, but also offer plenty of benefits to mental and physical health.

On the other hand, this trend can be extremely dangerous for patients with more serious health complications such as blood pressure and heart-related diseases. In many parts of the world, especially older generations find it more difficult to trust the medicines they are given. This is mostly cultural since their great parents used to cure themselves using merely herbal and home-made potions. However, they have neglected the fact that their ancestors had a significantly shorter life span probably due to the lack of adequate drugs. Moreover, the lifestyles have changed, with the current amount of food additives and the high consumption of fast food coupled with a more sedentary lifestyle, it is hard to believe that non-medical approaches would be actually effective, if not harmful.