In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be that case. Do you think this is a positive or negative siatuation?

Certain nations prefer to own their own residential property rather than living in a rental place while this is not necessarily the case for other nations. While, I am in favor of being a house owner, there are a number of positive and negative sides to it, which I will discuss briefly below.

Firstly, buying a house means that you insure your life for good. For example, in some countries the economic situation is not very stable and renting prices constantly rise due to inflation. This can pose financial pressure on renters. However, the house owners are guaranteed to have a roof over their heads during these adversities and the cost of housing is less likely to affect their lives. The other merit of being a house owner lies in the fact that it offers great flexibility to change the building’s architecture or interior design. While in rental cases, living in an apartment or a flat is tied to the company’s rules.

On the contrary, purchasing a residential property is undoubtedly way more costly than renting one. In order to afford a house, one has to save considerable amount of money for years, and many citizens might not even have that financial possibility to save enough. Another downside is that, having the full ownership of the property brings more responsibilities. Residents have to take care of the house’s maintenance themselves. This means that they have to pay higher prices to the private maintenance companies to fix problems. While renters can easily report a fault and the housing company while take care of it, either for free or at a much lower fee.

Overall, home ownership seems to be a comfortable situation which brings higher security to life over rentals. However, the initial cost and the higher responsibility tied to it might be discouraging to many. I personally believe that the advantages weigh off the disadvantages and therefore would advocate for buying your own house.