Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agreJioe or disagree with this opinion?

In the modern era, tourism became one of the most important economic sectors in the world. However, it can lead to conflicts between people who come from different cultures rather than creating a friendly atmosphere. This essay will delve both sides of this view before drawing a reasonable conclusion. In my opinion, tourism creates serious conflicts, such as economic competition instead of a beneficial communication.

Admittedly, after decades of speculation, people now have fairly accurate information concerning drawbacks of tourism industry. The main disadvantage of this is that it creates economic competition between both the governments and different countries’ citizens. A good illustration of this is that Greece and Turkey were wanting a coastal line in order to improve their tourism industry, which turn leads to a war between these countries. Secondly, toursits and local people cannot understand each other owing to language barrier. The result of this is that some misunderstandings might occur, and this situation might be perilous for communication of different citizens. Thus, tourism have detrimental effects on not only the governments but also citizens, therefore, the governments ought to be prudent concerning these effects.

Despite these arguments, benefits of tourism industry, such as cultural interchange should not be underestimated. The primary advantage of tourism is that people can easily make new foreign friends who come from another section of the world thanks to tourism. According to a report published by the New York Times, people who live in the Middle East try to introduce their traditions to foreign tourists in order to vanish their negative images through tourism. For instance, Syrian refugees gave leaflets, which concerning their civil war, to foreign abroads. Furthermore, if racist people travelled to beyond of borders, they would introduce other different cultures. Hence, even though a number of negative aspects of tourism, it has also a variety of benefits.

In conclusion, the decision as to whether tourism industry creates tension rather than communication must be taken in the context of the entire society. However, my personal view is that it can cause more serious conflicts than understanding different cultures.