Nowadays many countries have very cosmopolitan cities with people from all over the world. How can the government ensure that all these people can live together harmoniously?

In modern era of globalization some big cities have been home to people who belong to different parts of the world. This essay will discuss how the government of these countries shall maintain the harmony and peace between people of different cultures living in the same cities.

First of all, there must not be any discrimination between people on the basis of their background culture, their caste or color. All the citizens living in the country are working day in and day out and somehow contributing to the economy and development of the country. So, it is the responsibility of the government to provide them with equal rights and security. For instance, around 2008 in Australia there was massive hatred among the citizens of Australia against the immigrants especially Indians, many were killed and looted which lead to insecurity among the immigrants. They were in constant fear and some even returned to their native places. Ultimately, it was Australia who suffered the loss of their human resource. Thus, governments must ensure that each and every citizen is protected and win people’s trust then only they can contribute efficiently without any fear.

Secondly, because people of all cultures live in these big metropolitans all cultures and their traditions must be respected equally. Thus, various festivals and celebrations of all the cultures must be celebrated with same enthusiasm and vigor. Government should even include the famous festivals of other religions in the holiday calendar which shows that they respect all religions equally and such that all people can celebrate their own cultural values freely and happily. For example, in Canada apart from their native citizens there are a lot of immigrants from Punjab (in India) which is known for Sikh religion. Almost all major festivals of Sikhs like Gurupurab and Diwali are celebrated there, due to which Canada is really popular among Sikhs. Therefore, by taking such steps there is relationship of mutual trust that is built up between the country’s administration and its citizens.

In conclusion, it can be said that governments can ensure peace and harmony among people of cosmopolitan cities by mainly providing them equal rights and opportunities and at the same time giving respect to individual’s religious inclinations as well.