Nowadays many countries have very cosmopolitan cities with people from all over the world. How can the government ensure that all these people can live together harmoniously?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s cosmopolitan world, it is not uncommon to find major cities or countries filling up with immigrants. Although this has increased a closer interaction between people and cultures, governments would struggle to create peace amid people. As far as I am concerned, the authorities can establish stricter laws to protect the foreigners and immerse different cultures through education.

To begin with, anti-discrimination legislation can protect immigrants from being treated unfairly. In the first place, governments could launch a nationwide agreement to ensure that immigrants could receive equal benefits as the indigenous people. For instance, increasing the job opportunities along with certain medical insurance is the least standard that an immigrant could have. Moreover, the host country should have some stringent laws to protect people from aggression or prejudice so that, should an immigrant face terrible attitudes, they have some protection. By ensuring people feel safe the country shows that it is civilized and promotes integration.

Besides that, governments should propose more worldwide history and culture lessons. In this regard, children can have the opportunities to learn more about different cultures around the world, hence feeling more tolerant and opening their minds to accept the differences between customs. Furthermore, this practice does not stop at the local children but can extend to the immigrants who should be allowed to learn more about the host country through free language and culture programs. By acquiring the language and knowledge about the culture, they will be able to integrate more easily and comfortably without necessarily losing their own identity.

Admittedly, there is an obstacle that governments could face. Accordingly, an increase in the number of immigrants could make the locals uncomfortable. To put this further, the native citizens would be worried about losing their jobs to the hand of the foreigners. However, I believe that this would be a chance for the natives to learn and innovate themselves more to compete with the immigrants. Besides that, the host country should also make sure that its citizens have job security so that they would not be upset about their new neighbors.

To recapitulate, social frictions can happen anywhere when there are diversities, but there are many ways that the government can ensure harmonious living amongst its citizen. In order to build unity and prosperity, the government can take steps like enacting anti-discrimination laws and insisting on more cultural lessons for both the natives and the immigrants. Consequently, they would both live together despite their differences in language and culture.