Nowadays in many countries woman have full time jobs therefore it is logical to share household task evenly between man and woman To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement

In days of yore, people took it for granted that women had to do all housework without any help of other family members, especially their husbands. With the number of career women increasing, however, some people, particularly feminists, start to challenge this gender-biased concept, suggesting that men and women should equally share household chores. From my perspective, in spite of some manageable demerits, this egalitarian belief should be greatly promoted.

Admittedly, we cannot be oblivious of some drawbacks of this gender-equal trend. One of the potential downsides is that men are less experienced in dealing with household chores, and this is due to the fact that according to many countries’ customs, there are fewer men taking an active role in doing housework. As a result, they might end up finishing the housework in a less perfect way, which can lead to unnecessary quarrels between couples, and impeding/hindering their family relationship. Nevertheless, this is little likelihood of this situation happening because wives can provide some tips and guidance for husbands about how to share household chores like sweeping the floor and doing the laundry.

The rationality of splitting housework equally should be recognized for the following reasons. First and foremost, there is no biological determinant for doing household chores. No gender is physically predisposed to do the dishes or dispose of garbage. Second, imposing all housework on women is unfair given the fact that their role in the modern society has been changing tremendously over the years. Just like their fathers and husbands, women are also dedicated to daytime’s work, suffering work-related stress and anxiety. Therefore, after one day’s hard work, they need to have proper rest as men do; otherwise, they will be overwhelmed with fatigue and stress, eventually compromising their mental and physical health.

In addition, splitting household duties evenly is conducive to facilitating gender equality, creating an environment which puts an emphasis on mutual support and esteem. If parents share housework, they will convey to their children that women and mothers are not synonymous with household chores. In other words, every family member should be accountable for household duties. Even better, sharing housework duties is an effective way to express love and care to people we love, which is conducive to strengthening marital relationship and family bond.

In conclusion, the benefits of this irresistible trend far outweigh its drawbacks despite the fact that splitting household drudgery evenly will trigger some conflicts. Hence, it is justifiable to argue that both of men and women should share housework.