Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In the modern world the tendency to have own business is becoming popular. People prefer work for themselves and do not want to work for other people’s companies.

Self-employment gives people an opportunity to lead their life in own pace. In other words, a person, who has business, is not depend on other people as the free activities and financially. This person can create schedule, which is convenient for their lifestyle, can make own goals and plans to attain them. People, who work for themselves manage money and control them without reports for boss and other people. These people know their budget and they can count the expenses and incomes to achieve the target. For example, according to the research of German sociologist, more than 76 percent of people who are self-employed and keeps track of expenses, think their work to be profitable.

The other hand of possession of own business is a great risk to lose it. There are a lot of situations, when companies are dropped. One of the reason can be unaware how to make business and how to spend money correctly. To create own business people should know the basic economic skills, because without them, people can waste their money and do not earn anything and afterwards to stop production. Moreover, there are unforeseen situations, when people are forced to close their business. For instance, the Guardian wrote that about 40 percent of small businesses were closed due to pandemic in March 2020.

In conclusion, I can say that people strive to be independent and to earn money without working for somebody. In this case people have a lot of pluses, such as managing time and money, but they also can face problems and lose their business.