Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Nowadays, the number of individuals who opt for working for themselves instead of being employees in firms and organisations rises significantly. This essay will outline the reasons for such preference and also, the potential risks that come across when being self-employed

Working for oneself is found to be a relatively popular career choice these days where liberty and freedom tend to be the paramount reason. A self-employer doesn't have to be bound by rules and regulations. Indeed, he is actually the one who comes up with them and dictates his workers to oblige. Besides, being self-employed allows people who have a flexible schedule. Thus, choosing the working hour in a way that leaves them suitable time for their families, friends and other meaningful activities is considered not a problem. Another worth-mentioning attribution is that, individuals who work for themselves can actually make unplanned leaves in case of abrupt situations or illness. Hence, workers tend to give up their mundane jobs in offices and start to become self-employed.

As being blindfolded by the plenty of merits of being self-employed, people tend to neglect the potential deterrents that approach them. First, working for oneself doesn't guarantee a consistent salary. In fact, the income depends predominantly on the productivity, the revenue, the expenses of the work. Therefore, there are people who are actually very successful and become very rich but there are also those whose cash out is generally lower in then cash in which drives them to bankruptcy. Furthermore, to maintain high productivity, a person is required to be intensely disciplined. In other words, working with no supervision makes a person prone to procrastinate their tasks or even skip some of them, resulting in the fall in productivity and revenue and eventually, devastating consequences.

In conclusion. although being self-employed is very beneficial and somehow lucrative, their banes should not be underestimate. Hence, if a person wants to work for himself, it is advisable that he take into account the going-to-face risks and prevent them from interfering into his work to be an effective self-employer.