Some countries allow old people to work to any age that they want. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In several nations, it is possible for elderly to continue working until the age of their desires. Although the benefits of this phenomenon are remarkable, they are still eclipsed by the disadvantages.

It is irrefutable that letting the old worker carry on with their works has countless of advantages; this is all thanks to the experience and skills that they have accumulated throughout their dedication working in the company. Having all these things constituted valuable assets, senior workers tend to complete their work faster compared to the newly younger ones. Besides, these workers are deemed to be more flexible in handling unexpected problem occurring during working process. Another worth-mentioning merit is that as long as old workers still working, they will be able to pass down their skills to the newcomers in the most comprehensive way.

On the other hand, despite the vast experience and skills senior workers possess, the lack of knowledge regarding technology and energy may severely affect the work’s productivity in a negative way. Since automatic machines and computers have been superseding the manual work, it will a challenge for workers belonging to the past generation be familiar with them as they have no competence in technology. Furthermore, old workers are not as active as the younger ones; as a result, this slows down the working speed, leading to fewer tasks completed.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that senior workers have way more skills and knowledge compared to workers of the following generation, but the arrival of technology has made those things wear off. For that reason, I perceive that letting elderly carry on with their work has more banes than boons.