Nowadays many people choose to be self employed rather than to work for a company or organization Why might this be the case What could be the disadvantages of being self employed

In today’s highly pressurized lifestyle, people have to tolerate the burden of long hours work in order to cover their daily expenses to some extent. Finding a compromise between work and less stressful life hours leads people to think about having their own businesses instead of working for others.

First of all, thanks to modern technology, communication tools are increasing, ranging from smart-phones and teleconferencing equipments to laptops leading all employees being contactable all times of the day. Therefore, employers expect them to work for longer hours, leading no private life for staff and increasing pressure on them. The second point is that economic turmoil poses a competitive environment on people specially in service sector to compete for promotions to prevent from facing with any probable redundancy. Then, all pointed issues add up to workers anxiety and also have impact on their daily routines, then they try to create their own business to ameliorate their highly-pressurized working conditions.

Turning to possible drawbacks, we can point out the risk money loss in investment on new businesses because if they are not programmed accurately, they will cause financial problems and then even bankruptcy, leading irrecoverable consequences. This means that there are highly competitive organizations and companies in labour markets which are managing by specialist and compete with other rivals in order to prevent from any potential failure. Therefore, in order to have prosperous business, managers should be aware of all aspects of their new established work. As a second risk, it is worth noting that if a manager does not have skills such as patience, justice, discipline and also team work spirit, starting a new business can not prospect because beside investment, having proper management methods is compulsory to deal with any problems.

To conclude, today’s economic recession can be the main reason of leaving a work and starting new business, and money loss with weak business can be the disadvantages of starting a new business.