Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Instead of having time restrained by taking up a particular career, more people are now starting their own businesses or working as a freelancer to escape from the work prison. Yet, doubt is casted on their conventional lifestyle as there might be hindered disadvantages on such adoption. This essay focuses on explaining the reason behind and discussing the pitfalls of being self-employed.

One salient cause of such phenomenon is the rising propensity on maintaining work-life balance of people especially the young generation. Being flexible in schedule planning, it provides them more freedom and ease to spend quality time with their loved ones, at the same time, tailor to their own needs. For instance, parents are allowed to take care of their newborns as they need not to commute to the workplace and leave their children to the care of others. Hence, stronger bonds are formed, which might in turn foster the development of the children.

However, some display an uninterested or even harsh attitude toward self-employment as they believe it would only cause more rigidity in life. Undeniably, working independently also implies the risk of being financially unstable and bearing all responsibility on one's shoulder. And there is no guarantee of an equivalent amount of income given to the time and efforts spent. In fact, often do self-employed people like freelance translators find it tough to sustain a living without taking up several jobs at the same time, which ends up spending more time on working. Thus, it leads to an opposite effect of their initial intention -- enjoying the privilege of a versatile lifestyle.

With all that being said, it is incontrovertible that self-employment is an option commonly adopted by people nowadays. Regardless of the potential drawbacks, people may always weigh the goods and bads and make the best decision for themselves.