Nowadays many people choose to be self employed rather than to work for a company or organization Why might this be the case What could be the disadvantages of being self employed

There are a lot of ways to earn for living, ranging from working as an employee to starting their own businesses. Today, rather than being an employee for certain corporations, a lot of people decide to be self-employed. This essay will discuss the reasons which cause this situation, and also the possible drawbacks of this situation.

There are some reasons that make people choose to be self-employed. Firstly, being employee lacks time flexibility. This is because, employee usually have fixed working schedule and limited vacation days. Otherwise, self-employed person have more flexible working schedule and more vacation days than what employees have. Secondly, employee often have big pressures from their bosses which make their jobs become so stressful. This is because bosses usually give employees target to accomplish which make them being pressured and stressful. On the other side, being self-employed is different because people are being their own bosses, so there will be no one that give them target or pressure.

However, there are some possible downsides in being self-employed. Firstly, self-employed people will have more responsibilities than what employees have. This is because, self-employed people are their own bosses, so they have to think about a lot of things related to their business, including decisions which will affect their business continuity. Employees on the other side, only need to think about finishing the assigned tasks. Next, self-employed people have bigger risk to have unstable income. This is because being self-employed have higher difficulty of success if compared to being an employee. Thus, the risk to fail and have unstable income is bigger than what employee has.

In conclusion, many people decide to be self-employed because of several advantages including having more time flexibility and less pressure. However, there are also some possible drawbacks of being self-employed including having more responsibilities and having bigger risk to have unstable income.