Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Speaking from an economy stand point, we live in strange times. While there are many opportunities to make money, it can be hard to decide which one is the best. Some people prefer to work for themselves, rather than being employed by someone else. This essay will discuss why might this be the case and what are some of the downsides.

Lots of young graduates are choosing to start their own ventures, rather than look for jobs. First reason is the more creative freedom that this affords them. As most jobs require them to perfom duties according to a very strict set of guidelines, self-employment sets them free. Recent survey by Galop among self-employed people showed that the biggest reason for leaving their corporate jobs was lack of flexibility. Secondly, freelance works allows more control over work life balance which directly affects the mental health. If people are satisfied with their working hours, both their psychological and physiological health improves. This was very evident by the recent research on doctors in the UK where those who had managable working hours were more healthy than others.

Even though it provides many benefits, the disadvantages can’t be ignored either. Firstly, there are no paid leaves in case there is an emergency. Since you are responsible for your own salary, missing work will lead to loss of income. This was the largest factor contributing to massive unemployment spikes during the lock-downs that happened due to the pandemic, as self employed individuals suddenly lost their salaries. Secondly, I think when working for yourself, you have to work much harder as compared to a salaried job. It is well known that starting a new business and then making it profitable requires lot of energy and dedication. Famous businessman Mark Cuban once said that start ups mostly fail due to lack of effort, not due to lack of money.

In conclusion, although self-empoyment provides freedom and better work life balance, I believe it can also be a liability that can leave you without pay in an emergency and require more effort than other jobs.