Should parents be obliged to immunize their children against common childhood diseased? Or do individuals have the right to choose not to immunize their children?

What is your view of this practice?

We have made tremendous achievements in the field of medicine, one of which is the invention of vaccines. But this discovery has been marred by controversy from the beginning. While some believe it should be mandatory to vaccinate all the kids against common deadly illnesses, others say that parents should be given a right to choose. I will discuss both sides of the arguments in this essay, although I personally am in favor of mandatory immunization.

Those who advocate for the parent’s right to choose has two main arguments. Firstly, parents should be allowed to make their own decisions. They say it’s a life changing matter and it would be better if it’s made through an informed consent after careful explanation. Many western countries follow this rule, which has unfortunately lead to a slight decline in vaccine uptake. Secondly, some people have religious reasons to refuse a vaccine. Certain vaccines use animal or human derivatives which has lead to concerns among conservative communities. For instance, Amish community has the lowest vaccination rates in the entire world which could be blamed on the lenient laws surrounding immunization.

As for the obligatory vaccination, I believe its many benefits clearly outweigh whatever infringement it causes on human freedom. First of all, mandatory immunization will greatly reduce the burden of preventable illnesses on the healthcare professionals, who in return will be able to focus more on the chronic diseases. This has been shown to work in countries like Japan, where they have successfully eliminated infectious diseases from their cities. Moreover, due to strong vaccination campaign we have been able to wipe some disease entirely, like Small Pox and Polio. Secondly, it benefits the children more than anybody else. Vaccines successfully prevent the severe forms of the diseases and allow children to have a healthy life. If it wasn’t for vaccines, we would never have been able to achieve such a high quality of life.

In conclusion, if parents are given the right to choose, they may decline vaccines for personal or religious reasons. Therefore I believe it’s important to have an obligatory vaccination program to reduce burden on hospitals and improve child health.