More and more people are expected to be living in urban centers in the future. What problems will this cause? Should the government start encouraging people to settle outside the city?

Our world is rapidly becoming urbanized with large number of people settling in big cities every year. While it’s beneficial for the people now, in the long term it may lead to disastrous outcomes. In this essay I will outline the problems that it may lead to and also explain why the government should start encouraging citizens to begin settling outside the cities to counter this problem.

It doesn’t take much to realize that constant influx of people into the cities may end up causing congestion and increase in rents. The congestion can lead to more traffic jams and unsanitary living conditions. Indeed some cities, like Honk Kong and Mumbai, are already facing these troubles because it’s nearly impossible to keep upgrading infrastructure at such fast pace to keep up with the migration. The second problem it can lead to is higher rents as only limited number of living space is available in the cities. As a result, people either resort to house-sharing or choose to live with their parents which has become increasingly common in recent times. Recent surveys have shown Sydney and Tokyo to be the most expensive cities in the world and one of the reasons for this is the high rate of migration. Therefore, it’s important to curtail rapid migration in order to save ourselves from these problems.

Even though the situation may seem hopeless at times, there are some measures that the government can take to curb this problem. I believe the first thing that needs to be done is to create attractive job opportunities in the peripheries, so that people stop considering moving to cities. This has been tested with good success in states like Pakistan where salaries of doctors and lawyers are almost twice in the remote villages as compared to urban centers. The second step that the government should take in order to encourage people to live outside the cities is to improve the transport facilities. When people have fast and comfortable travel options, it makes it easier to live in suburbs. Good transport also means easier access to basic facilities such as hospitals and schools, so people in peripheries will really have no benefit to move to center of the cites anymore.

In conclusion, although moving to a big city seem an attractive option in the short term, in the long term it can have many downside such as traffic jams and higher rents. Hence I believe the government should convince people to settle outside the cities by offering better salaries and good transport.