Some people believe it is better to study subjects that have practical applications. Others, however, think it is better to study subjects that are theoretical.

Universities nowadays offer a wide array of subjects that students can choose to specialize in. Due to so much options, there is some confusion as to what a young pupil should study. While some believe that a subject with practical applications is the better choice, others disagree and prefer theoretical subjects. I agree with the former statement, however this essay will explore both views.

The practical skills have always had an important place in our society. The first benefit is that it guarantees job security. There is always a demand for skilled workers, even in times of a global recession. The recent Coronavirus pandemic could be a great example, when a lot of industries shut down but doctors, nurses and factory workers remained in high demand. The other reason for studying a practical subject is that it enables you to innovate and create new technology. This can help create jobs and also bring wealth to the communities. China is a great example of this where new inventions and hard work has lifted many villages out of poverty. Therefore, practical fields are important for human prosperity.

Even though practicality is important, theory can’t be ignored either. Theoretical fields encourage individuals to think and ponder about lots of different things, ranging from life and death to religion and politics. This type of critical analysis of our day to day life has yielded lots of positive changes in our society as today we are better and more progressive than our ancestors. Because of this, we have better human rights, less racism and more tolerance for each other. If it weren’t for these scholars of theoretical subjects, we would never have been able to make progress as a society. Hence, theory is important for a better future for humanity.

In conclusion, although theory is crucial for better understanding of the world, it isn’t suitable to everyone. In my view, the practical subject are better since they guarantee job security and drive innovations.