In the future, nobody will buy newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Internet has revolutionized our lives in many ways, one of which is the instant access to news. Because of this, many people believe that newspapers and books will loose their relevance and will be replaced by the online alternatives. While I strongly believe that there will always be market for paper in the future, this essay will discuss both sides.

Looking at the currents trends, one could be forgiven to think that physical paper will quickly succumb to digital media. First reason being the huge convenience of online platforms. It has become so easy to access news updates or communicate with friends and family through the internet that nobody even thinks about buying news. When a smartphone can provide you with instant information, people stop waiting for their morning newspaper. Recent Galop survey showed that decline in newspapers circulation and smartphone ownership were directly related to each other. Secondly, online news is freely available, while newspapers are becoming more and more expensive. The bleak financial situation of the world lends itself to contributing towards boom of online media outlets. Since 2008 depression, half of the world newspapers have gone bankrupt while online media houses have seen major profits.

Even though the world seems to be moving towards a digital future, I believe that there will always be people who appreciate the experience of reading newspapers and books. A computer screen can’t actually replicate the enjoyment of reading a newspaper at breakfast. Even if digital world completely takes over, nostalgic people will still buy books and magazines just for the sake of feeling paper between their fingers. The peculiar smell inside an old book shop will always attract a niche class of society towards it. What’s happening to paper is very similar to all the other amenities of lives that have disappeared over time but never vanished. For instance Vinyl, people still buy them, even at expensive rates, just because of nostalgia.

In conclusion, although digitization has many conveniences, it won’t completely replace paper. In my opinion, there will always be small group of people who will prefer sentimental values over comfort.