In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or a negative situation?

Home is a basic necessity of life. It’s a place we come back to at the end of the day when we are exhausted by our daily lives. In some countries people prefer to rent houses while in others it’s important to buy your own property. In this essay I will discuss some causes for this and explain why I think it’s a good thing to own a house.

In today’s uncertain economy, home ownership provides an inexpensive accommodation and a good investment simultaneously. Renting can be expensive, especially in cities where it’s become almost impossible to live for an average family. Its makes more sense to pay a monthly mortgage than rent because at the end of it you own a home. A home that can be used as a refuge in your old age or even by your children. In a recent Galop poll, when asked why people preferred to own home, most given answer was it being more economical option. Secondly, it’s also a good investment to own a piece of property. In addition to being the safest option, it also has good returns. The statistics from year 2020 showed that when all other forms of businesses took a plunge during the pandemic, property prices actually went up a little.

This trend towards buying rather than renting has raised some questions but I believe that this is a positive development. The first benefit is the peace of mind it brings to the owners. They don’t have to worry about rising rent, inflation or evictions whereas renters live in an almost constant apprehension. It also allows people more freedom to be creative with their property by adding or removing different features which is never possible with a leased property. The other benefit is the reduction in homelessness. When more citizens are encouraged to own homes, the risk of unexpected evictions is decreased. The recent US survey showed that cities with high numbers of leased homes also had higher incidence of homelessness.

In conclusion, people choose to own homes because it’s cheaper and also a safe investment. In my opinion this is a positive trend as it brings peace of mind and also helps to tackle homelessness.