The cost of flying has decreased significantly over the last decade. This has made overseas travel much more accessible.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

When the aero-plane was invented more than a hundred years ago by two brothers just as a hobby, hardly anyone could have fathomed the impact it would’ve on the world one day. These impacts have been both positive and negative. As the cost of flying has become more affordable over the last few years, it’s enabled more and more people to fly overseas. This essay will discuss some advantages but also the disadvantages of this trend that I feel are worrisome for us.

The world is now more connected than ever and this has had some advantages. The first one is its role in peace and harmony that we see among many nations. As more people choose to travel to different countries, there is more interaction between different nations and cultures. This leads to a better understanding of the world around us and makes the world inevitably a better place. We have the example of Vietnam in front of us, once a hostile nation, now enjoys good relationships with most countries since the opened up for tourism. The second benefit is that cheap overseas travel has made living far from home easier. People can now move more freely between states, without worrying too much about finances.

Even though it has some benefits, the drawback can’t be ignored either. The first and the most serious one is its devastating impact on the environment. Whether we like it or not, the planes burn a huge amount of fuel and cause lots of carbon emissions. Almost daily we see news about wild fires, climate change and polluted oceans and the air travel industry has a big part in this according to scientists. The second disadvantage, which is a lot easier to comprehend, is the loss of local tourism. As people now prefer to go to faraway exotic spots for their vacation, the local tourism business is losing its business.

In conclusion, although the affordable airfares provide some benefits, they come at a huge cost. I believe the disadvantages are far graver as it is destroying our environment and local economies at the same time.