Nowadays, people have greater access to fast food.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The world today is very fast paced and food is also following the same trend. There has been a significant rise in the popularity of fast food in recent times as more and more people have access to it every day. In this essay, I will outline some advantages and also discuss why I believe the disadvantages outweigh these.

As our lives have become very hectic and also expensive, fast food does present some benefits. First of all, it is very easy and quick to prepare which is very useful for people who are busy. While most of the fast food is unhealthy, there are a few nutritious options. People with busy lifestyles like doctors and lawyers do take advantage of these. Another perceived upside is its cost which is very affordable. So poor and less fortunate members of the community can have something to eat because indeed it’s better than sleeping hungry even if it’s not healthy.

Even though it has some benefits, the damage it has dealt to our health is enormous. Beginning with children, the younger generation has become very unhealthy because of its addiction to these fast foods. Kids are consuming such food on almost daily basis and this has led to rise in various health problems and the most significant is childhood obesity. A research last year concluded that almost 50% of the children in Europe were obese, while figures in USA were even higher. The other big downside is the increase in prevalence of chronic diseases in communities that have high fast food consumption. Among these, hypertension and diabetes were at the top. As if this wasn’t enough, scientist have hypothesized that fast food might also be an important factor in decrease in life expectancy in poor communities.

In conclusion, although fast food might present some advantages, they are minimal and replaceable. I believe the disadvantages are serious as it’s damaging the health of our children as well as adults and it is evident by the scientific research.