Nowadays many people choose to be self employed rather than to work for a company or organisation Why might this be the case What could be the disadvantages of being self employed

In today’s contemporary life, a vast majority of people tend to be self-employed, rather than become an employee for an organization and some experts claim that this can have harmful impacts on society or person. I will elaborate on the reasons which increase the people motivation to work for themselves and the influences of this on the person.

To begin with, it should be noted that the development rate of technology has faced a considerable proliferation since the invention of the internet. So in modern days, various social platforms and a large group of references about different subjects are accessible for all the people. As a result, individuals do not need to company’s specific data to raise their knowledge, and using cutting-edge technologies is sufficient for them. Also, the types of the occupation have been changed dramatically. For example, between the industrial revolution and the 21st century, there was a huge demand for labor workers to work with mechanical equipment in different sites, so working independently is not possible; but now works related to technologies only need a laptop, consequently starting a self-employed job is much easier than past.

However, there are lots of controversial debates about the effects of self-employment. Some researchers assert that being self-employed can be the cause of several psychological problems, such as depression, since it reduces social activities. In addition, the risk of being bankrupt increases for the person who works for his/herself because many of the people who want to start their business do not have enough money, so they get loans and grants. As a result, if they cannot make a remarkable progression and earn enough money, they would not afford to pay back the loans to the bank.

Having manifested the aforementioned subjects and examples, due to the technology development, the number of people who want to begin their business is grown. This can have some disadvantages that should be considered adequately.