Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, more and more people are choosing their career as a self-employed. This trend is becoming very popular, as many people do not prepare to work under other employers. This essay will discuss the reasons associated with self-employment and will outline the drawbacks of this trend.

From an overall perspective, there are two main reasons why people like to work as a sole-trader. Firstly, today’s generation loves to work independently. If they work for an organisation or company, they have to follow the employer’s rules and regulations. In contrary, working oneself do not required any tight schedule to maintain. Secondly, availability of internet and online business apps encourage people to work themselves. Nowadays, it is very convenient to make communication with other business holders or customers within a minute via internet. for example, ‘eBay’ is a website where people can do online business from their own place.

However, working as a self-employed would have some negative aspects. Perhaps the primary drawback of this trend would be the lack of definitive schedule for work. As a result, people who are not punctual and determined for their goals, they may not get profit or loose their business. Another disadvantage of self-employment would be lack of proper knowledge about running a business. As there is no partnership with other people who are expert in business, in the long run, there could be chance of closing down the business.

In conclusion, it must be said that the popularity of self-employment has increased in recent years. Taking the above into account, it would appear that working as a self-employed is quite challenging. If people can gain some appropriate information beforehand, there would be less chance of unsuccessfulness.