Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In contemporary times, the working pattern of the industrial sector has been changed. People are now, especially the young generation willing to work independently, therefore, the number of self-employed people increasing day by day, not only for independence but also for various reasons. In the following paragraphs, the causes and the disadvantages will be discussed.

On the one hand, firstly, people feel comfortable when they find liberty and freedom in the workplace which is not possible in companies. He has to abide by many rules and regulations such as maintaining the working time, moreover, people sometimes find it difficult to maintain a good relationship with boss and colleagues. As a result, nowadays more people wanted to be self-employed. For example, a freelancer has the flexibility of working time and no restriction to do the job. Furthermore, he has a chance to earn more money rather than working as a fixed salary holder. Secondly, seeking a job that is difficult in the current society. In addition, due to the improvement and availability of the technological device people can now work from home, this opportunity increase the tendency to be a freelancer. For instance, during the pandemic situation in 2020 and 2021, many people lost their jobs and after that, they started their own businesses or start-up an IT farm.

On the other hand, there are numerous examples that after being self-employed many people build up a bright career, but there are some disadvantages too. First of all, to start up a company a man has needed a huge amount of money at a certain time and no possibility to earn a lot of revenue. The company may be failed and people get frustrated. Another reason is that productivity, research shows that when people work alone the efficiency decreases and increase the risk of losing clients.

In conclusion, to sum up all the points above, self-employment is a good option but people have to be careful and work hard to improve themselves both in the case of skills and money.