Nowadays many people choose to be self employed rather than to work for a company or organisation What might be be the case What could be disadvantages of being self employed

In recent times, some individuals prefer to become entrepreneurs instead of getting jobs in corporations and companies. There are several reasons for this phenomenon despite the drawbacks of being a freelancer.

Firstly, one of the reasons some people desire to be self-employed is that they believe they will achieve self-satisfaction by being independent. Personal satisfaction will let one do something you enjoy. From a personal example, my younger sister who loves travelling and visiting new places is presently running one of the most successful travel agencies in Nigeria as a fulfilled tour operator. Secondly, having independence, control and freedom from routine is perhaps the main reason for this choice. As an independent employer one gets to make all decisions affecting one's life, from business plan to working hours, working conditions and business location, unlike employee whose lives are being affected by their bosses' decisions. Thirdly, a major motivation for being your own boss is the financial reward that comes with it. All the profit that comes into the business is taken by the owner unlike in regular employment where there is a cap on earning potential and in most cases only get increased on an annual basis or involved in yearly bonuses.

On the other hand, the downsides of being a freelance cannot be overlooked as there are various challenges are associated with this. One of the most difficult problems is lack of financial security as the individual won't be getting a steady paycheck and may have to chase invoice payments to manage cash flow. Not only will one no longer receive a guaranteed income, benefits such as health insurance, leave allowances and pension contribution may be difficult to come by. Another possible issue is that without the support of families and friends becoming an entrepreneur can be particularly difficult. One will mostly work longer hours, including weekends and holidays so work-life balance is going to be changed entirely. Family's needs have to be met both financially and emotionally.

In conclusion, nowadays many people prefer to be self-employed because of the profits, freedom and sense of fulfilment regardless of the insecurity and instabilities that are associated with this.